Chakra Symbols Meaning

What is Chakra?

Chakra is a meditation practice that is originated in India, the meaning of the word ‘Chakra’ simply translates to ‘wheel’.

This is because the practice spins and draws energy to keep the body’s spiritual, mental, emotional, and physical health balanced which is believed to keep the body healthy and the mind young.

To complete this practice you must open all of your seven primary Chakras.

7 Chakra Yoga Leggings

Retail: $85.99—> NOW: $45.99 (LIMITED TIME OFFER)


The Meaning behind each Chakra Symbol

Here you will learn everything you need to know about the seven Chakra symbols in order…

1. Muladhara, The Root Chakra

The Muladhara Chakra symbol is a red lotus flower with four petals, located near the tailbone on the base of the spine and it’s responsible for our foundation and the feeling of being grounded and secure in life.

The benefits of awakening this Chakra are quite amazing as this Chakra is what motivates us to do even the simplest things such as eating and sleeping, by activating this Chakra we are linking our energy with the physical world.

It is believed that chanting ‘the Seed Mantra of Muladhara Chakra’ more than 100,000,000 times will activate this Chakra, as well as stomping your bare feet onto the group, practicing Kundalini yoga, and performing the Bridge yoga pose.

Consuming certain foods and hot spices such as apples, beets, carrots, potatoes, red cayenne peppers, and Tabasco sauce will also help to awaken this Chakra.

2. Svadhishthana, The Sacral Chakra

The Svadhishthana Chakra symbol is an orange lotus flower with six petals, located roughly on the lower abdomen and it’s responsible for our ability to feel creative and sexual as well as be able to accept change, others, and new experiences.

This Chakra is what influences our sexual behaviors, activating it will help us to improve the relationships we have with others as well as ourselves.

To activate this Chakra, practicing Kundalini yoga will allow you to achieve this, as well as performing pelvic thrusts and the Cobra yoga pose. Consuming orange-colored foods as well as nuts will also allow you to awaken this Chakra.

3. Manipura, The Solar Plexus Chakra

The Manipura Chakra symbol is a yellow lotus flower with ten petals, located roughly on the upper abdomen and it’s responsible for our ability to be confident and in control of our own lives.

The Manipura Chakra not only helps us to digest our food and turn it into energy for our body, but it’s also important as it drastically improves the way we see ourselves, improving things like our self-worth and self-esteem.

Just like the Muladhara and Svadhishthana Chakra, practicing Kundalini yoga will awaken this Chakra. Other things you can do to activate this Chakra include dancing, lying on your belly, consuming grains and fiber, eating yellow-colored foods such as corn, and drinking tea.

4. Anahata, The Heart Chakra

The Anahata Chakra symbol is a green lotus flower with twelve petals, located in the center of the chest right above the heart and it’s responsible for our beautiful ability to love. By activating this Chakra you are filling yourself up with a lot of love, forgiveness, and compassion.

Practicing Bikram yoga and giving out some of your love by opening up your heart to others, is a great way to awaken this Chakra as well as repeating positive affirmations to yourself that are related to love, eating green foods, and drinking green tea.

5. Vishuddha, The Throat Chakra

The Vishuddha Chakra symbol is a blue lotus flower with sixteen petals, located on the throat and it’s responsible for our ability to communicate and express ourselves. This Chakra is important as it not only improves our ability to hear and communicate but it also creates a bridge between our body and mind, increasing our ability to express ourselves.

Great ways to activate this Chakra include: singing, chanting, standing up for yourself and others, and performing the shoulder stand when doing yoga. Drinking lots of juice and tea as well as eating any type of fruit will also help you to achieve awakening this Chakra.

6. Ajna, The Third Eye Chakra

The Ajna Chakra symbol is an indigo lotus flower with only two petals, located on the forehead between both eyes and it’s responsible for our ability to focus and be able to see the bigger picture.

Awakening this Chakra will allow us to use our third eye, giving us the chance to see what most can’t. It’s believed that this Chakra increases your intuition and allows us to hear others’ inner thoughts, making us somewhat psychic.

Performing gazing candle meditation and visualization meditation is believed to activate this Chakra, you can also do the Child’s yoga pose or any yoga pose that involves forward bending. Make sure to also eat purple-colored fruits and chocolate and drink lavender tea.

7. Sahasrara, The Crown Chakra

The Sahasrara Chakra symbol is a violet lotus flower with one hundred petals, located on the very top of the head and it’s responsible for our ability to be fully connected spiritually. Awakening this Chakra will help you to embrace the gratitude for your life and not allow our limitations to stop you.

There are many ways you can activate this Chakra, which include: just simply being quiet, reading, meditating, practicing gratitude, running, and cardio as well as breathing clean and fresh air, and get some intake of the beautiful sunshine.


The downward-pointing triangles

If you’ve seen the Chakra Symbols, you may have noticed the numerous inverted triangles. But why?

You may have noticed that not all of the Chakra symbols include inverted triangles, this is of course due to each Chakra symbol having a different meaning. Only four out of the seven primary Chakras have downward-pointing triangles on them, which are:

  • Muladhara, The Root Chakra – The inverted triangle on this Chakra inside a circle is there to represent its elemental symbol, which is Earth. It’s also there to remind us of its grounding energy.
  • Manipura, The Solar Plexus Chakra – The inverted triangle on this Chakra symbolizes how the three Chakras below are spinning and concentrating towards the higher Chakras.
  • Vishuddha, The Throat Chakra – The inverted triangle on this Chakra is there to represent the bridge between our consciousness and soul and a better version of ourselves.
  • Ajna, The Third Eye Chakra – The inverted triangle on this Chakra represents our spiritual connection and awareness.

Why it’s important to open our Chakras

Now that you know about the Chakras and how to unblock them, why should you?

Our Chakras may be blocked due to stress, a bad diet, a lack of exercise, and other negative factors. Unblocking them will allow us to change our lives for the better and become the best version of ourselves.

wearing a chakra bracelet can also help you in balancing your body’s energy.

Improving our mind and body’s health as well as awaken up to possibilities we may not have been aware were possible, as time passes more and more people are starting to take part in activating all of their Chakras, what’s stopping you?

You May Also Like ...